Europa_promo

The mystery of the ocean was a gift given him by parents who spent most of their careers standing where he finds himself today. He stares into the great expanse of water just as they did. There was never a question. He simply headed into marine biology as his parents had. The ocean, where life began, holds answers for us, they would say. In a few hours, his pursuit would bring to an end one of the millions-year-old mysteries.

I have yet to read The Martian. Friends tell me it is a great read. USA Today tells us it is a crackling good read. Weir’s story is inspiring, even breathtaking. One day he is hoping people will read his book. The next day he is sitting opposite Adam Savage of Mythbusters fame and explaining how he did it, how his book rose to a bestseller.

That stratospheric success story might make a good book some day. All you need is a great premise, a few tips from the folks at the Jet Propulsion Lab and you’re book is off toward the clouds. I’m dying to get my hands on it and I will when I finish my own effort.

Would I like to see my book do the same? Can astronauts “science the shit out” of getting themselves off Mars?

