Mike's Dinver

Hope you are enjoying the first two chapters. Keep returning to the CHAPTERS page for additional downloads.

 Writers lament all the challenges that come with setting out on a project. I make reference to teachings of the Native Americans in my work. This is just the occasion for native wisdom. Elders steer their young on a difficult path. Challenge is embraced.

After 30 years of professional writing as a newsman, I am still learning. And, while some might find the transition from article writing to chapter writing a smooth one, I find it challenging – always have.

Challenges are something I have not steered clear of over the years. My experience as a law student got me into the linear thinking habit. But linear thinking is like canoeing upstream when it comes to creating stories. My mind is a wild horse and will not be reined in easily, I have found. My mind produces its best ideas when it is not restrained. The reining in happens as I turn ideas into chapters and then a drama. My focus might be the best kind. I keep after it.

The more difficult challenge was to bring science knowledge into the content. How much is too much? How little is too little? It’s more than balance. The story has to be cohesive. It needs to be reader friendly, but not dumbed down. It’s easy to wander down tangents after minutes of writing only to pause and find that you might not keep the passages just written. If I have any advice to impart after taking on this project, it is do not fall in love with what you write. It is likely to change.

Raymond

